Death by Water (Phryne Fisher #15)

Author(s): Kerry Greenwood

Crime Fiction

'Who are you?' asked the doctor. 'You are not the standard cruise passenger, I can tell you that.' 'Thank you,' said Phryne in a self-possessed manner. 'You are correct. I am a lot of things, some of which do not concern you, but mostly I am Phryne Fisher.' The nice men at P&O are worried. A succession of jewellery thefts from first class passengers is hardly the best advertisement for their cruise liners, particularly when it is likely that it is a passenger who is doing the stealing. Phryne Fisher, with her Lulu bob, green eyes, Cupid's bow lips and Chanel travelling suits, is exactly the sort of elegant sleuth to take on a ring of jewellery thieves aboard the high seas - or at least, aboard the SS Hinemoa on a luxury cruise to New Zealand. With the Maharani - the Great Queen of Sapphires - as the bait, Phryne rises magnificently to the challenge. There are shipboard romances, champagne cocktails, erotic photographers, jealous husbands, mickey finns, blackmail and attempted murder, all before the thieves find out - as have countless love-smitten men before them - that where the glamorous and intelligent Phryne is involved, resistance is futile.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Rights to this series sold in USA (Poisoned Pen), France (Univers Poche), Russia (Bookclub 36.6) and Germany (Bertelsman), with ongoing interest from around the world. The thirst for Phryne Fisher is unabated. With each new title, sales figures rise. Recommend energetically to any reader who loves the fun and sexiness of Janet Evanovich and the perfect plots of Agatha Christie. Continued vigorous promotional support for both Kerry Greenwood as author and Phryne as character. Includes appearances by Greenwood at literary festivals and promotion of the website, (where readers can subscribe to receive the latest Phryne Fisher information). Kerry Greenwood is also the author of the sassy new contemporary crime series that began with great sales and wonderful reviews in January '04 with Earthly Delights and has continued in January '05 with Heavenly Pleasures.

Kerry Greenwood is the author of twenty-seven novels and the editor of two collections. Previous novels in the Phryne Fisher series are Cocaine Blues, Flying too High, Murder on the Ballarat Train, Death on the Victoria Dock, Blood and Circuses, The Green Mill Murder, Ruddy Gore, Urn Burial, Raisins and Almonds, Death Before Wicket, Away with the Fairies, Murder in Montparnasse, The Castlemaine Murders and Queen of the Flowers. She is also the author of several books for young adults and the Delphic Women series. When she is not writing she is an advocate in Magistrates' Court for the Legal Aid Commission. She is not married, has no children and lives with a registered Wizard.

General Fields

  • : 9781741145526
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : April 2005
  • : 195mm X 132mm X 23mm
  • : Australia
  • : May 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Kerry Greenwood
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 300
  • : Crime & mystery